The Mommy from Mars

It won’t be an exaggeration if I say that my husband was made for parenthood. There are days when I want to give him a piece of my mind for whatever reason, but I can’t, as when I see him with the toddler, I turn all mushy.

While I was expecting the unexpected, with my emotions playing havoc, I often told him “You’d understand if you had to play Mommy for a day”. He’d just laugh it off, saying those dreaded words “It’ll be fine”. Well, it did turn out all fine (contrary to what I believed and felt), he was a constant support from the day the baby popped!

I remember the first night at the hospital – the nurse handed over the alien and asked ‘So, who’s staying back tonight?’ and with undeterred confidence he said “I am the father and I will”. I wanted to cry but held my composure as had enough of it during my long stay in the labor room.

From juggling diapers and conference calls, from attending hoots to untimely poops, he seemed to be a pro at it. Given all the female attention he had from my friends/relatives, I’m sure he had his own reasons to do what he did :-).

But he really surprised me with his maternal instincts, when he offered to take care of the 3 month old infant (for 10 days, before help arrived) while I had to go prove my existence at work. He took charge of the most difficult job in this world, and did manage to win an Oscar (well, I’m assuming it involved a little bit of acting skills too :-)). He was in total control of the infant’s feeding schedule, waste management and extra-curricular and before I realized he turned out to be The Mommy from Mars.

seerat

The kiddo preferred him to me (mostly because his lullabies were better than mine ;-)) but surprisingly the ‘now’ toddler still clings to him ;-). While I am busy teaching manners, correcting behaviors and enforcing discipline, he is Mr. Fun. He doesn’t mind the make-up on his face, the paint on his nails, the color on this hair and the dolls on his lap. While I sit and watch them living their dreams, I see a bond – of love, of tied hearts and a common enemy 😉

Whatever it is, it’s extremely special. In any case, this is the best a 9 year old matrimony gets you and I am not complaining!

Love you two,

The Devil Mom

Linking this post with @misra_amrita and @deepagandhi1 for #MondayMommyMoments.

linking-image

6 thoughts on “The Mommy from Mars

  1. Believe me when I say this ,your are blessed.To stay blessed continue doing all the good you do .Until you are born under a special star father’s who are fun are rarely great at patenting. Your hubby sounds perfect.I wouldn’t have believed this possible if I didn’t see my hubby getting a A+++ being a mom.
    Thanks a lot for writing with us for #MondayMommyMoments. It’s a prompt every Sunday where we share our life and views after we became moms.

  2. Loved reading it Neha. We are all lucky to have such supportive husbands. My husband also helped me a lot when I was expecting and also after that as we were alone in US and had no help from anyone. Thanks for linking up to #MondayMommyMoments 🙂

Leave a Reply

